Sport BC announces the finalists to be celebrated at the upcoming 55th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards taking place on Thursday, March 9, 2023 at the Vancouver Convention Centre East. The event, to be hosted by CBC’s Scott Russell, recognizes the province’s best in amateur sport including athletes, coaches, teams, and officials for outstanding performances in their sport in either the 2021 or 2022 season.  Each finalist was nominated by their Provincial or Multi-Sport Organization, High School, College, or University. The Selection Committee, led by long-serving Chair Bernie Pascall, included a diverse group of highly experienced British Columbia sport leaders and media members.

An additional six awards will be presented at the ceremony including the Best of BC, KidSport BC Community Champion, Harry Jerome Comeback, Daryl Thompson Lifetime Achievement Award and In Her Footsteps Honourees.

“The Athlete of the Year Awards is a true celebration of sport in our province. The finalists listed below will be honoured at the event and represent exceptional efforts and accomplishments in 2021 and 2022. We congratulate our finalists and the organizations they represent”, shares Sport BC’s President and CEO, Rob Newman. “We look forward to celebrating as a sector together on Thursday, March 9, 2023 at the Vancouver Convention Centre. The finalists represent 29 sports from communities all throughout BC demonstrating the collective strength of our province’s sport sector.”

Sport BC gratefully acknowledges the support of the 55th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards sponsors:

Presented By


Entertainment Sponsor



Athlete with a Disability
Kady Dandeneau – Wheelchair Basketball

Ina Forrest –  Wheelchair Curling

Mollie Jepsen – Para Alpine

Mel Pemble – Para Cycling

Tyler Turner – Para Snowboard

College Athlete of the Year
Cameron Gay (Vancouver Island University) – Basketball

Yevgeniya (Jane) Lytvynenko (Vancouver Island University) – Volleyball

Vitor Pereira (Camosun College) – Volleyball

Thomas Venos (University of Alabama) – Wheelchair Tennis

Claire Ye (Capilano University) – Soccer

Female Coach of the Year
Malindi Elmore – Athletics

Barb Fraser – Gymnastics

Jane Gumley – Rowing

Bev Priestman – Soccer

Brit Townsend – Athletics

Male Coach of the Year
Trevor Hirschfield – Wheelchair Rugby

Chris MacDonald – Golf

Tommy McLeod – Diving

Laurier Primeau – Athletics

Mostafa Sabeti – Wushu

High School Female Athlete of the Year
Lauren Clements (Terry Fox) – Basketball

Maella Hodgson (Elgin Park) – Athletics

Rupinder Johal (Robert Bateman) – Wrestling

Marina Rodocaj (R.A. McMath) – Volleyball

Rory Rothnie (Claremont) – Lacrosse

High School Male Athlete of the Year
Laon Kim (Gleneagle) – Swimming

Walker Sodaro (Kelowna) – Volleyball

Logan Thiessen (Robert Bateman) – Football

Aidan Turner (South Delta) – Athletics

Jimmy Zaborniak (Burnaby South) – Basketball

Junior Female Athlete of the Year
Renee Batalla – Diving

Oonah Gamboa – Karate

Gracey Hemstreet – Cycling

Lauren Kim  – Golf

Alicia Zhang – Ultimate

Junior Male Athlete of the Year
Praise Aniamaka – Athletics

Connor Bedard – Ice Hockey

Jackson Goldstone – Cycling

Cooper Humphreys – Golf

Nikola Petrovic – Judo

Senior Female Athlete of the Year
Julia Grosso – Soccer

Camryn Rogers – Athletics

Marielle Thompson – Alpine

Avalon Wasteneys – Rowing

Micah Zandee-Hart – Ice Hockey

Senior Male Athlete of the Year
Jack Crawford – Alpine

Amar Dhesi – Wrestling

Evan Dunfee – Athletics

Brent Hayden – Swimming

Derek Mayson – Softball

University Athlete of the Year
Aaron Ahl (Simon Fraser University) Athletics

Alison Andrews-Paul (Simon Fraser University) Athletics

Derek Epp (Trinity Western University) Volleyball

Kent Johnson (University of Michigan) Ice Hockey

Anna Mollenhauer – (University of Victoria) Field Hockey

Team of the Year
BC Rugby 7s – Women’s Canada Summer Games Team

Langley Rams Football Team

Trinity Western Women’s Volleyball Team

UBC Women’s Golf Team

UVIC Women’s Field Hockey Team

Master Athlete of the Year
Christa Bortignon – Athletics

Uli Mayer – Cycling

Lloyd Polack – Archery

Shelly Stouffer – Golf

Derek Tripp  – Triathlon

Official of the Year
Anne Bees – Tennis

Gordon Bennett – Gymnastics

Kevin Bowie – Wheelchair Rugby

Michael Campbell – Ice Hockey

Janice Hunter – Figure Skating

Media Contact

Allison Mailer

Sport BC, Communication Manager