Community Sport Hero Awards


Community Sport Hero® Awards presented by SportBC and KidSport

Celebrating its 14th year, the Community Sport Hero Awards, partnered with KidSport. The program recognizes coaches, officials, mentors and administrators who have dedicated themselves to amateur sport at the community level.  Since its inception in 2001, 50 Provincial Sport Organizations have honoured 536 sport volunteers in 45 different communities.

In 2016/2017, the Community Sport Hero Awards  will make the rounds to four communities, including Nelson, Abbotsford, Summerland and Cowichan Valley to present these prestigious awards.


Chuck Bennett                Tracey Mozel
Barry Marsh                    Michael Stefan
Pat Hodgson                    Scott Cormie
Carol Currie                    Erin Fitchett


TJ Fleming                       Audie Yastremski
David Gartrell                 Carol Van Balkom
Anne Ross

Cowichan Valley

Bryan Harper                  Lorne Winship
Bill Kerserich                  Susan Harrison
Stan McKinley                Ernie Mansueti
Tina Knott                       Sam Masur


Jen Ross                            Hary Wiens
Susan Lemke                   Anthony Jansen
David Goulet                    Les Timar
Jim Mitchell                     Steve Carlton and Stan Petersen