

Sport BC Announces 57th Annual Athlete of the Year Award Finalists

Media Advisory – January 17, 2025 – (Vancouver, BC)

Sport BC announces the finalists to be celebrated at the upcoming 57th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards taking place on **Thursday**, **March 6**, **2025**, at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. The event, to be hosted by CBC's Scott Russell, recognizes the province's best in amateur sport including athletes, coaches, teams, and officials for outstanding performances in their sport in the 2024 season. Each finalist was nominated by their Provincial or Multi-Sport Organization, High School, College, or University. The Selection Committee, led by long-serving Chair Bernie Pascall, included a diverse group of highly experienced British Columbia sport leaders and media members.

An additional six awards will be presented at the ceremony including the Best of BC, KidSport BC Community Champion, Harry Jerome Comeback, Daryl Thompson Lifetime Achievement Award and In Her Footsteps Honourees and the Bobbie Steen Legacy Foundation Award recipient.

"The Athlete of the Year Awards is a true celebration of sport in our province. The finalists listed below will be honoured at the event and represent exceptional efforts and accomplishments in 2024. We congratulate our finalists and the organizations they represent", shares Sport BC's President and CEO, Rob Newman. "We look forward to celebrating as a sector together on **Thursday, March 6, 2025**, at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. The finalists represent **29** sports from communities all throughout BC demonstrating the collective strength of our province's sport sector."



Sport BC gratefully acknowledges the support of the 57th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards sponsors:





Female Athlete with a Disability

Danielle Ellis (White Rock, BC) – Sitting Volleyball Julia Hanes (Vancouver, BC) – Para Athletics (Seated Throws) Maggie Manning (Salmon Arm, BC) – Para Ice Hockey

Male Athlete with a Disability

Nathan Clement (West Vancouver, BC) – Para Cycling Cody Fournie (Victoria, BC) – Para Athletics (Wheelchair Racing) Sebastian Massabie (Surrey, BC) – Para Swimming

Female Coach of the Year

Laura Brown (North Vancouver, BC) – Cycling Karen Kos (North Vancouver, BC) – Ice Hockey Dorina Stan (North Vancouver, BC) - Gymnastics

Male Coach of the Year

Dylan Armstrong (Kamloops, BC) – Athletics Igor Gantsevich (Richmond, BC) – Fencing Richard Ikeda (Kamloops, BC) – Gymnastics

High School Female Athlete of the Year

Agnia Krakovska (Maple Ridge, BC) – Wrestling (Maple Ridge Secondary) Talia Phangura (Surrey, BC) – Athletics (North Surrey Secondary) Miah Schuurman (Chilliwack, BC) – Basketball & Volleyball (Unity Christian School)

High School Male Athlete of the Year

Cole Budgen (Vernon, BC) – Basketball, Football & Golf (Vernon Senior Secondary) Michealjeet Grewal (Abbotsford, BC) – Wrestling (WJ Mouat Secondary) Emmet Ward (North Vancouver, BC) – Basketball, Football, Rugby & Track and Field (Windsor Secondary)

Junior Female Athlete of the Year

Chloe Primerano (North Vancouver, BC) – Ice Hockey Amy Lee (Langley, BC) – Golf Brooklyn Lee-McMeeken (Pitt Meadows, BC) - Gymnastics

Junior Male Athlete of the Year

Isaac Boehmer (Penticton, BC) – Soccer Lowan Le Bris (Surrey, BC) – Judo Nick Zhang (Vancouver, BC) - Fencing





Senior Female Athlete of the Year

Caileigh Filmer (Victoria, BC) – Rowing Shallon Olsen (Surrey, BC) - Gymnastics Camryn Rogers (Richmond, BC) - Athletics

Senior Male Athlete of the Year

Amar Dhesi (Surrey, BC) – Wrestling Raymond Huang (Vancouver, BC) - Archery Ethan Katzberg (Nanaimo, BC) - Athletics

Post Secondary Athlete of the Year

Nicolas Huerta –Track and Field (TWU) Marie-Eloise Leclair – Track and Field (SFU) Diego Maffia – Basketball (UVic) Garrett Rooker – Football (UBC) Katalin Tolnai – Soccer (UBC)

Team of the Year

UBC Thunderbirds Women's Soccer UVIC Vikes Women's Field Hockey Team Canada National Junior Squash Team

Master Athlete of the Year

Betty Brussel (New Westminster, BC) – Swimming Gerald Poulton (Victoria, BC) – Squash Diane Silzer (North Vancouver, BC) – Speed Skating

Official of the Year

Kevin Bowie (Vancouver, BC) – Wheelchair Rugby Brian Hiebert (Vancouver, BC) – Beach Volleyball Andrée Montreuil (Quebec City, QC) - Gymnastics

-30-

About Sport BC

Sport BC believes in the power of sport and is committed to building stronger communities through positive sport experiences. Our goal is to enhance and support sport participation in British Columbia ensuring everyone has the opportunity to thrive. Through our KidSport BC, BC Amateur Sport Fund, and BC Women & Sport along with our services Sport BC Insurance, and Payroll and Group Benefits; Sport BC supports our seventy plus member organizations. Keep up to date @SportBC

Media Contact

Allison Mailer Sport BC, VP Operations <u>allison.mailer@sportbc.com</u> 778-839-8576

Athlete of the Year Awards

Thursday, March 6, 2025 Fairmont Hotel Vancouver #SportBC57thAOY http://sportbc.com