

# Sport BC Announces Presidents' Awards Recipients

#### For Immediate Release - February 9, 2024 (Vancouver, BC)

Sport BC recognizes the importance of volunteers in sport. The significant role volunteers play in the sport sector is celebrated through Sport BC's Presidents' Awards. The Presidents' Awards presented by Sports With Balls are given to volunteers from Sport BC member and partner organizations who demonstrate the spirit of volunteerism through the dedication, commitment, and tireless energy they give to their sport organizations. The 49 recipients will be celebrated during **Sport BC's 56<sup>th</sup> Athlete of the Year Awards** taking place on **Thursday, March 7, 2024**. Congratulations to the 2024 Presidents' Awards Recipients, thank you for all you do for sport in British Columbia.

Presidents' Awards Sponsored by Sports With Balls



### SPORT ORGANIZATION

Badminton BC Baseball BC Basketball BC BC Adaptive Snowsports BC Archery BC Athletics BC Blind Sports and Recreation BC Diving BC Fencing BC Games Society BC Golf BC Hockey BC Lacrosse

## 2024 PRESIDENTS' AWARDS RECIPIENTS

Raymond Wong Serj Sangara John A. Buis Gail Williamson Sonia Schina Brian McCalder Amy Amantea Zoe Lu Brendan Robertson Brian Balkwill & Brenda Beatty Bob Russell Neil McNabb Will Lockwood



BC Netball **BC Rhythmic Gymnastics** BC Rugby **BC** Soccer BC Sports Hall of Fame **BC Wheelchair Sports BC Provincial Football** BC Senior Games Society BC Wheelchair Basketball Bowls BC Boxing BC Curl BC Field Hockey BC Freestyle BC Gymnastics BC Horse Council BC ludo BC Karate BC KidSport BC PacificSport Fraser Valley Pickleball BC **ProMOTION Plus** Racquetball BC Ringette BC Rowing BC Skate Canada BC/YK Softball BC SportMedBC Squash BC Swim BC Tennis BC **Triathlon BC** Volleyball BC Water Polo West Wrestling BC

Kevar McCalla Lori Fung Dave Williams Frank Rennick Anna Nyarady Ryan Schweizer Jason Gillis **Cindy Simpson** Bryan Shore Lynn Chwartacki **Dave Brett** Nando Salvuilo Alison Sweeten Pam MacDonald Joanne Morcilla-Pfeffer Sharon Pickthorne Cynthya Tan Andreas Kuntze Chris Wilson Tara Cleave Rod Williams Erin Wilkins **Bob Wolf** Keith Sullivan Baj Rijiniersce Lori von Hardenberg Tracey Oye Anne Deitch John Hungerford Jessica Jensen Graham Cooper Jordan Myers Elizabeth Yoon Mary Blazevic Gord Sturrock





## About Sports With Balls

Sports With Balls is a collaborative working group of Sport BC members. It is comprised of the following Provincial Sport Organizations: Baseball BC, BC Lacrosse, BC Rugby, BC Soccer, Softball BC, Ringette BC, Tennis BC, and Volleyball BC. Sport BC is grateful for the consistent and enthusiastic support received from Sports With Balls.

Sport BC gratefully acknowledges the support of the 56<sup>th</sup> Annual Athlete of the Year Awards sponsors:





#### About Sport BC

Sport BC believes in the power of sport and is committed to building stronger communities through positive sport experiences. Our goal is to enhance and support sport participation in British Columbia ensuring everyone has the opportunity to thrive. Through our KidSport BC, BC Amateur Sport Fund, and ProMOTION Plus along with our services Sport BC Insurance, and Payroll and Group Benefits; Sport BC supports our sixty plus member organizations. Keep up to date @SportBC

#### Athlete of the Year Awards

Thursday, March 7, 2024 @SportBC #SportBC56thAOY Media Contact

Allison Mailer Sport BC, Communication Manager <u>allison.mailer@sportbc.com</u> 778-839-8576

