



Sport BC Announces 55th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards

Media Advisory – January 16, 2023 – (Vancouver, BC)

Sport BC announces the finalists to be celebrated at the upcoming 55th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards taking place on **Thursday, March 9, 2023** at the Vancouver Convention Centre East. The event, to be hosted by CBC's Scott Russell, recognizes the province's best in amateur sport including athletes, coaches, teams, and officials for outstanding performances in their sport in either the 2021 or 2022 season. Each finalist was nominated by their Provincial or Multi-Sport Organization, High School, College, or University. The Selection Committee, led by long-serving Chair Bernie Pascall, included a diverse group of highly experienced British Columbia sport leaders and media members.

An additional six awards will be presented at the ceremony including the Best of BC, KidSport BC Community Champion, Harry Jerome Comeback, Daryl Thompson Lifetime Achievement Award and In Her Footsteps Honourees.

"The Athlete of the Year Awards is a true celebration of sport in our province. The finalists listed below will be honoured at the event and represent exceptional efforts and accomplishments in 2021 and 2022. We congratulate our finalists and the organizations they represent", shares Sport BC's President and CEO, Rob Newman. "We look forward to celebrating as a sector together on Thursday, March 9, 2023 at the Vancouver Convention Centre. The finalists represent 29 sports from communities all throughout BC demonstrating the collective strength of our province's sport sector."

Sport BC gratefully acknowledges the support of the 55th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards sponsors:



























Athlete with a Disability

Kady Dandeneau - Wheelchair Basketball Ina Forrest - Curling Mollie Jepsen - Para Alpine Mel Pemble - Cycling Tyler Turner - Wheelchair Snowboard

College Athlete of the Year

Cameron Gay (Vancouver Island University) – Basketball Yevgeniya (Jane) Lytvynenko (Vancouver Island University) – Volleyball Vitor Pereira (Camosun College) – Volleyball Thomas Venos (University of Alabama) – Wheelchair Tennis Clair Ye (Capilano College) - Soccer

Female Coach of the Year

Malindi Elmore - Athletics Barb Fraser – Gymnastics Jane Gumley – Rowing Bev Priestman – Soccer Brit Townsend - Athletics

Male Coach of the Year

Trevor Hirschfield – Wheelchair Rugby Chris MacDonald - Golf Tommy McLeod – Diving Laurier Primeau – Athletics Mostafa Sabeti - Wushu

High School Female Athlete of the Year

Lauren Clements (Terry Fox) – Basketball Maella Hodgson (Elgin Park) – Athletics Rupinder Johal (Robert Bateman) – Wrestling Marina Rodocaj (R.A. McMath) – Volleyball Rory Rothnie (Claremont) – Lacrosse

High School Male Athlete of the Year

Laon Kim (Gleneagle) – Swimming Walker Sodaro (Kelowna) – Volleyball Logan Thiessen (Robert Bateman) – Football













Aidan Turner (South Delta) – Athletics Jimmy Zaborniak (Burnaby South) - Basketball

Junior Female Athlete of the Year

Renee Batalla – Diving Oonah Gamboa, Karate Gracey Hemstreet, Cycling Lauren Kim, Golf Alice Zhang, Ultimate

Junior Male Athlete of the Year

Praise Aniamaka – Athletics Connor Bedard – Ice Hockey Jackson Gladstone, Cycling Cooper Humphreys, Golf Nikola Petrovic – Judo

Senior Female Athlete of the Year

Julia Grosso – Soccer Camryn Rogers – Athletics Marielle Thompson – Alpine Avalon Wasteneys – Rowing Micah Zandee-Hart – Ice Hockey

Senior Male Athlete of the Year

Jack Crawford – Alpine Amar Dhesi – Wrestling Evan Dunfee – Athletics Brent Hayden – Swimming Derek Mayson – Softball

University Athlete of the Year

Aaron Ahl (Simon Fraser University) Athletics Alison Andrews-Paul (Simon Fraser University) Athletics Derek Epp (Trinity Western University) Volleyball Kent Johnson (University of Michigan) Ice Hockey Anna Mollenhauer – (University of Victoria) Field Hockey

Team of the Year

BC Rugby 7s – Women's Canada Summer Games Team Langley Rams Football Team Trinity Western Women's Volleyball Team













UBC Women's Golf Team
UVIC Women's Field Hockey Team

Master Athlete of the Year

Christa Bortignon – Athletics Uli Mayer – Cycling Lloyd Polack – Archery Shelly Stouffer – Golf Derek Tripp - Triathlon

Official of the Year

Anne Bees – Tennis Gordon Bennett – Gymnastics Kevin Bowie – Wheelchair Rugby Michael Campbell – Ice Hockey Janice Hunter – Figure Skating

-30-

About Sport BC

Sport BC believes in the power of sport and is committed to building stronger communities through positive sport experiences. Our goal is to enhance and support sport participation in British Columbia ensuring everyone has the opportunity to thrive. Through our KidSport BC, BC Amateur Sport Fund, and ProMOTION Plus along with our services Sport BC Insurance, and Payroll and Group Benefits; Sport BC supports our seventy plus member organizations. Keep up to date @SportBC

Media Contact

Allison Mailer
Sport BC, Communication Manager
<u>allison.mailer@sportbc.com</u>
7778-839-8576

Athlete of the Year Awards

Thursday, March 9, 2023 Vancouver Convention Centre East #SportBC55thAOY http://sportbc.com







