Top sport volunteers honoured

Top sport volunteers honoured
Sport BC’s Presidents’ Awards recognize 44 volunteers from 22 BC communities

Richmond, BC (March 9, 2012) – Forty-four of BC’s key sport volunteers were in the spotlight yesterday at Sport BC’s 18th Annual Presidents’ Awards. The Presidents’ Awards give BC’s Provincial Sport Organizations an opportunity to showcase those individuals who make a significant, and often unheralded, contribution to their sport.

The awards ceremony preceded Sport BC’s Athlete of the Year Awards, held at the River Rock Show Theatre on March 8. For more details on both the Presidents’ Awards and the Athlete of the Year Awards, visit

18th Annual Presidents’ Award recipients

Badminton BC – Jack Rogers (Surrey)

Basketball BC – Dan Miscisco (North Vancouver)

BC Alpine Ski Association – Rick Hume (Whistler)

BC Amateur Baseball Association – Dan Taylor

BC Archery Association – Linda Price (Mission)

BC Athletics – Judy Armstrong (Kamloops)

BC Blind Sports & Recreation Association – Cherie Lu

BC Diving – Jill Komlos (West Vancouver)

BC Fencing Association – Nona Shorey (Surrey)

BC Games Society – Fernando Correia (Duncan)

British Columbia Golf – Richard Lyle (West Vancouver)

BC Amateur Hockey Association – Anne Deitch (Saanichton)

BC Lacrosse Association – Terry Mosdell (Surrey)

BC Ringette Association – Melinda Moorhouse (Quesnel)

BC Ringette Association – Wayne Moorhouse (Quesnel)

BC Sailing Association – David Sutcliffe (North Vancouver)

BC Snowboard Association – Flynn Seddon (Kelowna)

BC Soccer Association – Laurie Robertson

BC Speed Skating Association – Ariadne Holness de Hiller (Prince George)

BC Sports Hall of Fame – Joanie McMaster

BC Summer Swimming Association – Neil Wuolle (Salmon Arm)

BC Table Tennis Association – Chang Poh (Richmond)

BC Water Polo Association – John Stockdale

BC Wrestling Association – MaryAnn DeCorby (Vancouver)

Canadian Sport Centre Pacific – Leslie Cliff (Vancouver)

CanoeKayak BC – Jeff Morgan (Kamloops)

Coaches Association of BC – Eric Broom (Vancouver)

Curl BC – Joyce Kuzyk (Oliver)

Disabled Skiers Association of BC – John Appleby (Vernon)

Field Hockey BC – Tammy McComb (Delta)

Football BC – Brent Fairweather (Mission)

Gymnastics BC – Penny Erickson (Heffley)

Horse Council of BC – Steven Dubas (Prince George)

Judo BC – Ron Kuramoto (Burnaby)

Karate BC – James Johnson (Burnaby)

ProMOTION Plus – Diana Chan (North Vancouver)

Rowing BC – Janine Chan (Kamloops)

Skate Canada BC/YT Section – Gail Weber (Fort St. John)

SportAbility Cerebral Palsy Sports Association – Margaret McLeod (Vancouver)

Squash BC – Paul Marley (North Vancouver)

Tennis BC – Doug Rawson (Enderby)

Triathlon BC – Tracey Shelley (Delta)

Volleyball BC – Joe Moreira (South Slocan)

About Sport BC:
Sport BC is the non-profit sport federation, representing over 60 Provincial Sport Organizations in British Columbia. As a member-based organization, Sport BC offers services and programs to build the capacity of our members and advocate on their behalf to improve the landscape for organized sport in BC.


For more information, please contact:
Jessica Doherty
Manager, Communications
Sport BC
T: 604.333.3422