Selection Committee

51st Athlete of the Year Awards – Selection Committee

The selection committee for the the 51st Annual Athlete of the Year Awards reads like a “who’s who” of sportswriters, broadcasters, athletes and amateur sports experts representing every part of the province. Their job? To carefully sift through a mountain of nominees in 16 different categories and come up with a list of finalists. The Selection Committee has over 375 years of experience in following amateur sport in the province. Many members have put in at least eight years of service on the committee, contributing to the credibility of the awards within BC’s sporting community.  Members of the selection committee for the 51st Annual Athletes of the Year Awards.

From Left to Right: Lia Threlfall (BC Games Society), Carey Dillen (Chair, Sport BC), Ajay Patel (Langara College), Lynda Cannell (Fortius Sport & Health), Rob Newman (President & CEO, Sport BC), Wendy Long (Freelance Writer), Gary Kingston (Retired Sportswriter – Vancouver Sun), Marilyn Payne (Sports Consultant), Tom Berridge (Retired  Sportswriter), Bernie Pascall (Chair, Selection Committee & CBC), Judy Joseph-Black, Michelle Collens (Vancouver Sport Hosting), Len Corben, Karin Larsen (CBC), Bob Mackin
Not pictured: Allison Mailer (BC Sports Hall of Fame), Brian Dance (CBC)