Paul McCallum voted best athlete in British Columbia


Paul McCallum voted best athlete in British Columbia
Two-time Grey Cup champion and CFL All-Star claims top spot for Sport BC’s Best of BC award

RICHMOND, BC (February 28, 2012) — British Columbians named two-time Grey Cup champion Paul McCallum (Surrey, BC) “BC’s best” in a public vote for Sport BC’s Best of BC Award, presented by the Province of British Columbia. The 99th Grey Cup’s Most Outstanding Canadian Andrew Harris, reigning Canada Soccer Player of the Year Christine Sinclair, Pan American Games record holder Dylan Armstrong and Stanley Cup winner Mark Recchi were also finalists for the award, which recognizes a professional or amateur athlete for outstanding athletic achievement.

In his 19 seasons with the Canadian Football League (CFL), McCallum won two Grey Cups, played for five CFL West All-Star games, and was awarded the Grey Cup’s Most Valuable Canadian Award and the CFL’s Most Outstanding Special Teams Award. While playing for the BC Lions in 2011, McCallum set the record, with 30, for the most all-time consecutive field goals made in the CFL. As the oldest player in the CFL, McCallum also holds the record for the longest field goal made at 62 yards and highest field goal kicking accuracy in a single season.

“Through his performances in the 2011 year and over the course of his 19 year career, Paul has been a standout athlete,” said Carey Summerfelt, Manager of Sponsorship and Events at Sport BC. “British Columbians have taken notice of his athletic achievements and named him BC’s best athlete.”

“Not only has Paul McCallum’s tremendous determination led to a successful career in the CFL, but it has earned him a place in the hearts of British Columbians who cheer him on every time he faces the uprights,” said Hon. Ida Chong, Minister of Community, Sport and Cultural Development. “They recognize that he is a remarkable leader in sport, and he truly deserves this award.”

This is the second year the public has determined the Best of BC award winner, chosen in previous years by the Athlete of the Year Selection Committee.  The first recipient by public vote in 2011 was Lauren Woolstencroft (Para-Alpine Skiing). Previous recipients include Justin Morneau (Baseball– 2008, 2006), Steve Nash (Basketball— 2006, 2005, 2002 & 2000), and Mitch Berger (Football– 2010).

McCallum will receive the Best of BC award on Thursday, March 8 at Sport BC’s 46th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards presented by TELUS. For more information and to view the finalists in all 17 award categories, visit

About Sport BC’s Athlete of the Year Awards presented by TELUS:
Sport BC’s Athlete of the Year Awards is the longest standing sport recognition event in the country. Awards in 17 different categories are given each year to athletes, coaches, and officials on their performance and contribution to sport in the province. The awards play a valuable role in nurturing athletic success and recognizing some of BC’s growing talents. For a list of previous award winners and additional information on the 46th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards presented by TELUS, please visit

– 30 –

Media Contact:

Jessica Doherty
Manager, Communications
Sport BC
T: 604.333.3422