First Canadian Powerchair Football Team Named

May 17, 2011; Vancouver, BC – Powerchair Football Canada Coach Gordon Marks is pleased to announce the names of the 16 players on the Powerchair Football Canadian team. They are: Dale McLeod (Vancouver, BC), Keith Knight (Surrey, BC), Stratton Whitaker (Richmond, BC), Daniel Cunningham (Penticton, BC), Luke Galvani (West Vancouver, BC), Ana Lu (Vancouver, BC), Diane Lu (Vancouver, BC), Jordan Marks (Anmore, BC), Shayne De Wildt (North Vancouver, BC), Lareina Yung (Vancouver, BC), Vanessa Chen (Vancouver, BC), Ian Wright (Kelowna, BC), Sarah Limoge (Montreal, QC), Emilie St. Denis Laroche (Lachute, QC), Patrick Des Groseillers (Repentigny, QC) and Jean Phillipe Bureau (Longueuil, QC).

In late October 2011, for the first time ever, Canada will send 8 team Canada players to the FIPFA World Cup in Paris, France. The 8 players who will represent Canada in the FIPFA World Cup will be officially named by Coach Gordon Marks towards the end of May.

“It is with emotion, great pleasure, and honor that Canada, one of FIPFA’s founding countries, sends a team to the second Powerchair Football World Cup. A team that inspires pride. It is another important step for our sport. The results already surpass our modest ambitions. I wish all athletes a great tournament.” – Claude Guilbault, President of PFC

About Powerchair Football: Powerchair Football is a rapidly growing international sport for people with physical impairments in power wheelchairs. The rules of the game are derived from FIFA rules. Footguards are attached to the player’s wheelchairs and the game ball is 13 inches in diameter. This sport is played in a gym with 4 players per team, 20 minute halves and a 5 minute half time.