Best of BC Finalists



 Who do you think is BC’s best athlete?

Sport BC partners with the Province of British Columbia to promote people’s choice award for top BC amateur or professional athlete


Richmond, BC (January 24, 2012) – Sport BC, in partnership with the Province of British Columbia, encourages all British Columbians to have their say in naming the top BC athlete of 2011 by voting online at The athlete who receives the highest number of votes will be honoured with the Best of BC award for his or her achievements at Sport BC’s 46th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards presented by TELUS.

Voters will be asked to choose the athlete they feel best represented BC nationally or internationally in either a professional or amateur sport from the following finalists:

  • Dylan Armstrong (Kamloops,  BC) – Athletics, 2011 Pan American Games Gold Medalist
  • Andrew Harris (Nanaimo, BC) – Football, 99th Grey Cup – Most Outstanding Canadian
  • Paul McCallum (Surrey, BC) – Football, Record most consecutive field goals in the CFL
  • Mark Recchi (Kamloops, BC) – Ice Hockey, Stanley Cup winning season
  • Christine Sinclair (Burnaby, BC) – Soccer, 2011 Pan American Games Gold Medalist & flag bearer

“British Columbians are exceptionally proud of our athletes and the sport system that supports them as they train, develop and compete,” said Hon. Ida Chong, Minister of Community, Sport and Cultural Development. “These five athletes have made tremendous achievements in their sport, and truly represent the best of BC’s collective spirit – excellence, fortitude and strength.”

“2011 was an outstanding year for BC’s athletes, as evident by the calibre of candidates put forward for this award,” said Carey Summerfelt, Event Manager for Sport BC. “These five athletes are powerhouses, not only as competitors in their respective sports, but also in their representation of our province on the world stage.”

The online vote, along with athlete profiles, can be found at Voting closes on February 27, 2012 and the people’s choice for Best of BC will be revealed the following day. Previous winners of the Best of BC Award include Lauren Woolstencroft (Para Alpine Ski, 2010), Justin Morneau (Baseball, 2008) and Steve Nash (Basketball, 2005 & 2006).

Sport BC’s Athlete of the Year Awards is Canada’s longest running sport recognition event, celebrating BC’s finest athletes. Tickets for this year’s event, taking place March 8 at the River Rock Show Theatre in Richmond BC, are still available and can be purchased now at


About Sport BC’s Athlete of the Year Awards:

Sport BC’s Athlete of the Year Awards is the longest standing sport recognition event in the country. Awards in 17 different categories are given each year to athletes, coaches, and officials on their performance and contribution to sport in the province. The awards play a valuable role in nurturing athletic success and recognizing some of BC’s growing talents. For a list of previous award winners and additional information on the 46th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards presented by TELUS, please visit


– 30 –


For more information, please contact:
Jessica Doherty
Manager, Communications
T: 604.333.3422