36 British Columbians honoured with community awards

For Immediate Release
April 20, 2011
Office of the Premier BC Achievement Foundation

36 British Columbians honoured with community awards

VICTORIA – Thirty-six British Columbians were honoured today at the eighth annual BC Community Achievement Awards ceremony held at Government House in Victoria.

Lieutenant Governor Steven Point and Deputy Premier Kevin Falcon presented each recipient with a BC Community Achievement Award medallion and certificate on behalf of the BC Achievement Foundation.

“These thirty-six individuals have helped shape our province into what it is today,” said Falcon. “They have a passion for the people and places where they live and a strong commitment to making a difference. They inspire us all.”

“They are dedicated individuals who share the most valuable of today’s commodities; time and compassion.” said Keith Mitchell, chair of the British Columbia Achievement Foundation. They do whatever needs to get done – from sitting on boards and committees to far exceeding their job descriptions, to sharing their talents for sports or fundraising, environmental stewardship or protecting the province’s heritage.”

An independent advisory council selects the recipients of the British Columbia Community Achievement Awards. This year’s council members are Mayor Peter Fassbender of Langley, Mayor Mary Sjostrom of Quesnel, Kim Capri of Vancouver, and past recipients Patrick Kelly of Victoria (2009) and George Puil of Vancouver (2008).
The British Columbia Community Achievement Awards are generously sponsored by Postmedia Network whose presence in B.C. includes daily newspapers, The Vancouver Sun, The Province and Times Colonist and Postmedia Community Publishing.

The British Columbia Achievement Foundation is an independent organization established and endowed by the Province of B.C. to celebrate excellence in the arts, humanities, enterprise and community service. Launched in 2003, the awards were the first initiative of the foundation, followed by the B.C. Creative Achievement Award for Applied Art and Design, B.C.’s National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, the B.C. Creative Achievement Award for First Nations’ Art, and the B.C. Aboriginal Business Awards.

A list of the recipients follow and a brief summary of their achievement can be found on the foundation’s website at: www.bcachievement.com

Read the full release and backgrounder

Jamie Edwardson
Communications Manager
Ministry of Finance
250 356-9872

Nora Newlands
Executive Director
BC Achievement Foundation
604 618-6949