2018 Presidents’ Award Recipients ANNOUNCED

Posted in: Affiliate · Associate · BC Athletes · Feature Profile · Features · Members · News · PSO News · Sport BC · Sport BC Headlines · Sport BC News · Sport Organizations Headlines · Uncategorized · Voting   No comments


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                   CONTACT: Christine Wong
February 22, 2018                                                                                Athlete of the Year Awards Coordinator

Recipients will be honoured at the 24th Annual Presidents’ Awards
Recipients will be honoured at a ceremony on March 28, 2018

VANCOUVER, BC (February 22, 2018) — Sport BC is pleased to announce the following recipients of the prestigious Presidents’ Awards presented by Sports with Balls.  This group is comprised of the following Provincial Sport Organizations –  Basketball BC, Volleyball BC, BC Lacrosse, BC Soccer, Softball BC, Baseball BC, BC Rugby, Tennis BC and BC Ringette.  The Awards ceremony will take place in Vancouver on Wednesday, March 28, 2018 preceding the Athlete of the Year Awards.

The annual Presidents’ Awards, presented by Sports with Balls, now in its 24th year, are presented to volunteers from Sport BC member and partner organizations who represent the spirit of volunteerism, and whose dedication, energy and commitment contribute to the development of their sport or organization in the province of British Columbia.

Congratulations to the 2018 recipients that represent 20 communities and 37 Sport BC member and partner organizations across British Columbia!

Organization Recipient City
Alpine Ski Bruce Holliday Vernon
Archery Charles Land Kelowna
Athletics Maureen De St. Croix Surrey
Badminton Lisa Davison Prince George
Baseball Corinne Chow Vancouver
Basketball Richard Hunt Victoria
BC Games Society Rob Needham Lake Country
Blind Sports Bill Mah Kelowna
Boxing Jeff Laljee Langley
Canoe Kayak Dan Norman Mill Bay
Curling Paul Addison Saanichton
Diving Shelly Smee Vancouver
Field Hockey Narinder Sangha Surrey
Figure Skating Margaret Warwick Richmond
Golf Dee Horie Courtenay
Gymnastics Bobbi Symes Coquitlam
Horse Council Carol McDonald Langley
Ice Hockey Myles Mattila Prince George
Judo Mary Nomura Nanaimo
Judo Kiyo Nomura Nanaimo
Karate Donna Gardecki Coquitlam
Lacrosse Dirk Rachfall Coquitlam
Lawn Bowl Annie Mathie Victoria
ProMotion Plus Kristina MacDonald Langley
Ringette Colin Ensworth North Vancouver
Rowing Andrea Lynch Vancouver
Soccer Peter Price Coquitlam
Softball Terri Boizard Sooke
Speed Skating Donna Bilous Abbotsford
Sport Climbing Paul Hughes Port Moody
Squash Bill Vipond West Vancouver
Swimming Margaret Penning Victoria
Tennis Kiyo Breiting Coquitlam
Triathlon Kelly Guest Victoria
Volleyball Deb Janzen North Vancouver
Water Polo Darlene Sinkovits Surrey
Wheelchair Sports Brenda Chinn Vancouver
Wrestling Dave Higashi Burnaby

Tickets are now available through Eventbrite:
Purchase your Athlete of the Year Awards tickets here!



About the Athlete of the Year Awards
The Athlete of the Year Awards, founded by Sport BC, is the longest standing amateur sport recognition event in the country.  Awards in 18 different categories are given each year to athletes, coaches, and officials on their performance and contribution to sport in the province of British Columbia.  The awards play a valuable role in nurturing athletic success while recognizing extraordinary accomplishments in BC.

24th Annual Presidents Awards
The 24th Annual Presidents Awards is proudly sponsored by Sports with Balls. This group is comprised of Basketball BC, Volleyball BC, BC Lacrosse Association, BC Soccer Association, Softball BC, Baseball BC, Tennis BC and the BC Ringette Association.  These awards are presented annually to volunteers from Sport BC member organizations who represent the spirit of volunteerism, and whose dedication, energy, and commitment contribute to the development of their sport or organization.

About Sport BC

In 1966, a small group of dedicated volunteers created an organization to provide a unified voice for amateur sport in British Columbia. While much has changed in 52 years, our core purpose remains the same.

Who we are:
Sport BC is the non-profit sport federation, representing over 60 Provincial Sport Organizations in British Columbia. As a member-based organization, Sport BC offers services and programs to build the capacity of our members and advocate on their behalf to improve the landscape for organized sport in BC.

Sport BC, as a member-based organization, supports the growth of amateur sport in BC and provides leadership through delivery of its programs and services for members.

Sport in British Columbia is thriving through the leadership of Sport BC and our members.

Integrity, Transparency, Collaboration, Creativity and Innovation

For additional information, please contact

Rob Newman
President & CEO, Sport BC
Tel: 604-340-8432
Email: rob.newman@sportbc.com

Christine Wong
Athlete of the Year Coordinator, Sport BC
Tel: 604-333-3421
Email: christine@sportbc.com

PREVIOUS AWARD RECIPIENTS: For a list of previous award winners and additional information, including recognition of our corporate and community sponsors and partners, please visit: www.sportbc.com